Hear From Our Patients

Dr. Kotlow, a board certified specialist in pediatric dentistry, has been serving the needs of infants and children from birth through the early teen-aged years since 1974. His practice specializes in using preventive dentistry, infant care, the use of lasers for restoring teeth and for surgical procedures, and helping mothers with infants with breastfeeding difficulty due to tongue and lip-ties. His practice, located in Albany, New York, serves the dental needs of all children, including special needs children. He also is a recognized international lecturer on the use of lasers in treating children and pediatric dental care. He has lectured in Israel, Australia, China, Canada, Italy, as well as throughout the United States. Call 518-489-2571 or visit http://KiddsTeeth.com today!!


Visit Our Home Page

Reviews 1 - 42 of 221

"Conversation between Misti W. and Lawrence Kotlow DDS

Misti W. 11:32am Aug 1
Dr. Kotlow saved my baby's life! My son had his tongue ties released a year ago and it has been as hell of a year so I have not had much time to sit down and write. I brought my son Kellan Wood in July 2013. Only 2 weeks old and had only been out of NICU for 2 days. NICU Dr. assured me over and over that there was nothing wrong with K.... . After K..... procedure Dr. Kotlow told me to stop questioning myself and that Kellan definitely had some type of syndrome. Thank God, I had someone validate my feelings. On our plan ride back my baby's lip started turning blue and this time I did not second guess myself and immediately took him to the ER when landing. My baby was diagnosed with laryngomalacia and had surgery to fix this right away. His MRI showed that his temporal lobes never formed. A few months later he was diagnosed with optic nerve hypoplasia and ocular albinism. A few months after that, and after our genetics Dr. could not find what K..... had, I became more persistent in researching any syndromes that might be what K..... had. His blood chromosomal test and come back normal so our geneticist hit a brick wall when insurance wouldn't cover genetic testing. I finally came across a syndrome called Pallister Killian Syndrome which was a chromosomal disorder, an extra chromosome on chromosome 12p. Turns out that its a mosaic syndrome and can only be detected through cheek swab or skin biopsy. I asked for a cheek swab to be ordered and 48 hours later it came back positive for tetrasomy 12p (pallister killian syndrome). Less than 200 are diagnosed worldwide. Its a pretty grim diagnosis but Kellan seems to be doing extremely well right now. He was never able to breastfeed but he could finally take a bottle without any problem. Before the tongue tie surgery he could only take very minimal by mouth and it took almost an hour for each feeding. There is no doubt in my mind that he would have eventually ended up with a feeding tube. He is now making the sounds da da da. Before we made the trip to New York, my son was NICU where I questioned his neonatologist numerous times and was very convinced there was something seriously wrong with my child. She was not compassionate and treated me like a mother that was trying to make problems for my baby and she actually had started to convince me that I was. Dr. Kotlow listened and because of him I did not question anything else about my son. It has been a crazy year and I wish I would have wrote a thank you sooner. Much Respect, Misti W. and my sweet baby K......

Misti W. 11:41am Aug 1
https://www.facebook.com/l/6AQG3qWI_AQHCHjUSUMkesS6yM_fVGE1omGKRm4LJy4PTvA/https%3A//chivecharities.org/story/kellan

Misti Wood 11:42am Aug 1
I sent a link telling of Kellan's story. Kellan was chosen by chive charities for a grant to build him a therapy room. Once again please tell Dr. Kotlow thank you
"

-
Review Verified on 8/1/2014
"If it wasn't for Dr.Kotlow being so knowledgeable ,proactive ,and caring I doubt my son would be as highly verbal or even be able to eat .THANK YOU DOCTOR KOTLOW ..YOU FIXED HIS TONGUE TIE..Your staff is understanding and flexible as well as very efficient. .we have never had a bad experience. .and that says alot because little Dennis can be a handful. .we plan to stay with this practice as long as possible and we make sure to tell everyone we know or meet about your practice. .thank you.."

-
Review Verified on 5/8/2015
"Dr. Kotlow was dream come true for my son and my family. Sadly we found out really late ( My son is 2) that my son was lip tied. His severe upper lip tie was either missed and or ignored by every health care professional to date including 2 nursing coaches at the hospital. In my opinion all nurses who are coaching or helping women to nurse should be educated in the field of both upper and lower lip/tongue ties. I had painful nursing and eventually had to give up and manually express my sons milk for 8 months till my supply ran out. I diagnosed my sons upper lip tie myself after being ignored by my sons primary care provider who merely provided excuse after excuse for trouble nursing, Delayed speech and decaying upper front only teeth. I was told he would nurse better as he got older. I was told that it would just become less painful over time. Ladies, nursing should NOT be painful. I was told his speech was delayed because he's a boy, and buys simply talk later than girls. I was told the brown tint on his front 4 teeth was from sippy cups and juice and pacifier use. None, I repeat NONE of these brush offs were true. My son had upper lip tie. The brittle decaying teeth were from breast milk and other food and drink being stuck between his upper lip and upper teeth creating a breeding area for bacteria. Had I not been so lucky as to stumble across a Facebook post mentioning lip ties and nursing pain, I would have never found out my son had a upper lip tie and subsequently found Dr. Kotlow. We drove 6 hours to Dr. Kotlows office for his frenectomy and I would do it again in a heart beat! The office was on a very nice end of town. Very clean and professional. I swear the waiting room was designed for my son! He was entertained the entire wait. With a motion activated floor mat and interactive train station it was a little toddlers dream. My son was very comfortable with Dr. Kotlow and they always say children are the best judges of character. He allowed Dr. Kotlow to look in his mouth without much resistance at all. He allowed Dr. Kotlow to give him the sedation mediation without any issue what so ever. My son even while waiting the hour for the medication to take affect continually asked for the doctor. He had taken a liking to him and that eased a lot of fears for me. My son, because of all previous inferior medical care required 4 porcelain veneers on his upper front teeth hence the sedation. I was nervous but I had no reason to be. My son wasn't even scared. He gladly went to the doctor when the time was right and returned on pretty uplifted spirits and in minimal pain. I have a very sensitive boy and had he been scared or in pain, He wouldn't have been shy to show it. Once the doctor mentioned ice cream, He was all ready to go! Dr. Kotlow really took to our story and was very social and informative. He was smart and kind and these may not be attributes most look for in a doctor, but I don't like to feel like herded cattle in any doctors office. Dr. Kotlow really made us feel like we mattered and that he cared for us and our child. He provided me with all the papers needed for care and even told me to text him if we needed anything. Thank you so much Dr. Kotlow for taking such great care of my son. For providing excellent dental care. For saving my sons teeth. For almost INSTANTLY improving my sons speech. Its only been 1 week and already my son is finding his voice! His words are more clear and he's isn't struggling to express thoughts vocally. I think my son had all but given up on speaking because of the upper lip tie. Once the frenectomy was done, Its as though everything came to him. He went from barely saying 2 words together which were not clear or crisp, to now putting entire phrases of words together and talking up a storm! Dr. Kotlow, You are a blessing to our family. Time, Travel and money well spent!"

-
Review Verified on 8/16/2014
"Dr. Kutlow is great! My daughter had a grade four lip tie that her doctor's brushed aside. she was over a year before, I took it into my hands and called Dr. Kutlow . I had no clue how much her lip tie effected until, I was climb down his check list of symptoms. He was great with my daughter . He is not the stereotypical child doctor. He didn't play with her but, he does his job very well. I was terrified for my daughter to be away from me. Also, terrified that they couldn't handle her. She was twelve months and stubborn. They fixed her lip and tongue tie and she was back to me in about 4- 1/2 minutes. He made sure we understood follow up care. Gave us his number to call with any issues and understood my frustration with her doctor for not recognizing or treating the issue. My daughter no longer has calcium deposits on her teeth from the lip tie, although her speech is still behind. She takes a sippy cup, drinks out of a straw and has made many advances. I think she would still be behind if it wasn't for doctor Kutlow . I highly recommend him."

-
Review Verified on 7/22/2014
"Dr. Kotlow was wonderful with my son CJ whom has Autism. My son's first experience with a dentist was horrible, I found Dr. Kotlow and he built up a wonderful trust and relationship with CJ, that CJ didn't mind going to the dentist any longer. However, because of my son's Autism I am having a hard time to find a quality dentist. My son aged out and due to being unable to find a dentist that will accept CJ has been hard. Dr. Kotlow kept CJ as a client for a couple more years. However, it came a time when CJ had to leave that wonderful place.

God Bless Dr. Kotlow and his staff. We Miss you very much.
"

-
Review Verified on 7/8/2014
"As always, we had another successful visit to Dr. Kotlow's office! For us, "successful" used to mean getting my child to willingly walk into any dentist office without a meltdown, but since we started going to Dr. Kotlow's office, my children have little to no anxiety (especially with the fun waiting room!), our appointments are always on time, and Dr. K and the staff are professional and friendly. Thank you for taking such good care of my kids!"

-
Review Verified on 4/24/2014
"Joe has been coming there since he was two,, Dr kotlow and his staff are great, not only with his teeth but also making him feel good coming there, not scared"

-
Review Verified on 1/5/2017
"We have been coming to Dr. Kotlow for about 7 years now and he and his staff have never been anything but wonderful to us!!!"

-
Review Verified on 4/15/2016
"The staff got behind a little, which happens in every office. The waiting room is a fantastic diversion for little ones with interactive play items! The staff was friendly and thorough. I was incredibly nervous about what an appointment for a 1 year old would be like and I was greatful for the staffs professionalism and clear love for children!"

-
Review Verified on 1/18/2016
"The waiting room is great, we got in right @ our appointment time and the hygienist and Dr. Kotlow were both great! The ladies at the front desk were also very nice."

-
Review Verified on 5/19/2015
"excellent customer service and everyone is so sweet"

-
Review Verified on 4/23/2015
"My son has been going here for years and him and I are very happy with Dr Kutlow."

-
Review Verified on 6/7/2014
"As mother of three who had nursed well into toddlerhood, I knew something was amiss from the get-go with the birth of our fourth child. When she latched immediately after birth, I was left with a blood blister on my nipple, and the pain was excruciating. Luckily my sister is an IBCLC and RN, and she was able to help me figure out, through teleconferences and phone calls, that tongue-tie was likely the problem. By day 4 of life I'd already switched to pumping every three hours instead of nursing. After a lot of phone calls, I was able to get an appointment with oral surgery at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia [(CHOP) an excellent children's hospital located IN my town], but was dismayed to learn that the surgeon would only perform the laser surgery at 6 weeks of age, and only under anesthesia.
Considering I already had three kids at home and that I returned to work part-time the day after I delivered, I was beyond exhausted by pumping every three hours. Luckily again, my sister gave me Dr. Kotlow's information and I was able to get an appointment within a matter of days. Baby girl got the laser ablation done without anesthesia, on the day of the consultation. It was such a relief to be able to put her to the breast immediately after and nurse without pain and to offer her comfort. Moreover, Dr. Kotlow performed her lip tie as well, which CHOP told us was purely cosmetic and that insurance would not pay for.
Dr. Kotlow's staff was incredibly helpful at accommodating our appointment in a timely manner and for helping us figure out our insurance coverage. The appointment ran incredibly smoothly and like clock-work. Dr. Kotlow showed us an informative video and gave us literature to read to prepare us for the wound care. Considering I'm a physician and I know how challenging it can be to run on time, I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the timeliness of the appointment.
Nursing after we left the office continued to be a challenge despite my initial success immediately after the surgery. Unfortunately we faced the additional complication of oversupply from pumping, and of reflux and colic from the lack of nutritive hind milk. I followed Dr. Kotlow's advice to follow up with a lactation consultant and see a craniosacral therapist which helped me deal with those issues. They helped provide reassurance that we were on the right track. Nursing slowly improved over the following 3 weeks as my sore nipples healed, the baby's nursing technique improved and her wounds healed, and my oversupply was tamed.
Now that the baby is 7 months, I can happily report that she is a portly 20lbs and is thriving. Her reflux resolved with the oversupply issue, and she nurses easily. We followed the instructions Dr. Kotlow gave us in regards to wound care and have not experienced any recurrence of her tongue and lip ties.
I'd recommend Dr. Kotlow to any of my friends in a similar situation.
Thank you Dr. Kotlow!
"

-
Review Verified on 6/3/2014
"I was very pleased with the set up. From the moment we walked in my daughter was completely excited to be there. She had a lot of thing's to do to keep her busy I was very happy. The staff was professional and friendly. Very informative and helpful I really enjoyed the videos. I would definitely recommend Dr. Kotlows practice to friends and family."

-
Review Verified on 1/9/2014
"Our family has been coming to Dr. Kotlow's for two generations and hopefully many more to come."

-
Review Verified on 12/20/2013
"Dear Dr. Kotlow & Team,

We cannot thank you enough for what you have done for our family. We are truly impressed with your business practices and office team - given that you are a busy practitioner, researcher, and lecturer, it is amazing that you would make yourself so accessible to your patients and treat your patients with kindness and empathy. Moreover, your office team is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and kind.

What an improved difference the lip-tie & tongue-tie revisions have made already in how our two-month old daughter is nursing! We are following your post-op instructions/stretching exercises to the letter. Her healing seems to be on track and we will continue to monitor and keep you updated. We are working on scheduling a session with a lactation consultant as we are aware of the challenge that lies in retraining our little one to latch-on/nurse properly. When she is in pain or tired, she reverts to her previous habit of an improper latch causing the usual suspects (falls asleep at the breast, slides off the breast, takes in too much air, gets gassy, is too uncomfortable, doesn't empty the breast, doesn't get full, creating the need to snack frequently and continual hunger - the downward spiral), which is a challenge. I hope to report better news in a week's time.

We have sought your services in the hopes that the lip-tie & tongue-tie revisions will save our breastfeeding experience from coming to a premature end, especially with mom's imminent return to work.

Overall, definitely well worth the trip to have our daughter receive such excellent quality care from the best! We are so grateful to find a medical professional who is passionate about supporting breastfeeding families and advocating for basic foundational family health issues.

MANY Thanks,
Halima & Andrew
"

-
Review Verified on 6/23/2013
"Thanks so much Dr Kotlow! Dylan's doing amazing since his revision last Thursday! We've made it back to Florida and he's healing nicely. We've been doing our stretches (which he hates of course)
His nursing sessions are dramatically improved! His solid food eating also is improved, he's no longer using his fingers to push the food down! We can't thank you enough! Well worth the trip up to NY!
"

-
Review Verified on 6/20/2013
"Dr. Kotlow and the girls have been wonderful, I have been a patient of theirs for 18 years"

-
Review Verified on 3/16/2017
"Minimal wait time, friendly technicians and staff, and excellent service."

-
Review Verified on 3/15/2017
"The Hygenist was sweet and relaxed and the dentist was unflapable."

-
Review Verified on 3/17/2017
"Dr. Kotlow and his staff are so wonderful with my 2 year old daughter. Their office is very kid-friendly, and keeps her entertained while we wait. Dr. Kotlow is so knowledgeable and uses top-of-the-line techniques and tools. We're very impressed."

-
Review Verified on 3/17/2017
"Everyone is always friendly and patient with both my kids (4 and 2)."

-
Review Verified on 3/15/2017
"I visited Dr. Kotlow when my twins were about 5 weeks old because one of them had a very obvious tongue tie. While the boys were nursing well and gaining weight, the latch was uncomfortable and the one twin tired easily while nursing requiring much more frequent feedings. Dr. Kotlow confirmed the tongue tie and identified a minor lip tie as well. He offered to examine my the other twin since we had made the 90 minute drive to the office and noticed a more severe lip tie and a minor tongue tie. We ended up having the revisions done on both babies. As I had made the drive alone, Dr. Kotlow and his staff were a huge help with holding babies while I completed paperwork and helping me get them back to the car for our drive home. I highly recommend Dr. Kotlow to nursing moms any time I hear about possible lip or tongue ties."

-
Review Verified on 3/10/2017
"Staff is always very patient and friendly with my uncooperative toddler."

-
Review Verified on 3/3/2017
"Thank you for filling Emersons cavity the same day as his checkup. You saved us a long drive and more missed school. It was great that you could fit us in!"

-
Review Verified on 3/3/2017
"Thanks for being so friendly and professional. My kids like going to the dentist!"

-
Review Verified on 3/3/2017
"As always my daughters' check ups were great. There's no waiting around to get called....in fact my girls would probably be ok with that since the waiting room is so fun and child oriented. In fact it often takes a lot of "time to go" reminders to get them out afterward. They both live being able to pick a prize and bring home a new toothbrush but the floaters were a huge hit. It has been requested that I buy those specific ones from now on:) My six year old lives reading her dental report card and takes it very seriously which is great for getting her to be more responsibly independent with oral care. Thank you so much for another great experience."

-
Review Verified on 2/16/2017
"Thank you for a quick office visit & super friendly staff!"

-
Review Verified on 2/1/2017
"I would recommend Dr.Kotlow to anyone and everyone! I am so thankful for his great work and kindness with my child I wish this was the first Pediatric Dentist I brought my son to!"

-
Review Verified on 1/31/2017
"Dr. K did in two visits what three different dentists could not accomplish in two years. This man is magic!!!
I carry his card and hand it to anyone I hear that might be struggling with a dental issue. I feel like his own personal spokes person.
"

-
Review Verified on 1/23/2017
"Visit was quick, easy, and always a pleasure. Friendly environment and my 6 y/o always feels comfortable in his setting which is an intimidating one even for some of us adults."

-
Review Verified on 1/17/2017
"Dr Kotlow and his employees are always so welcoming and friendly!! We get right in and right out! Love their office!!"

-
Review Verified on 1/16/2017
"The comfortable setting and the professionalism of your office was superb. Making our visit enjoyable, productive and easy. Your office was filled with smiles. Both with your staff and fellow patients....being small children. What was good for my 3 boys is good for me. To you and your staff...I commend you all on a job well done. Thank you."

-
Review Verified on 1/14/2017
"The comfortable setting and the professionalism of your office was superb. Making our visit enjoyable, productive and easy. Your office was filled with smiles. Both with your staff and fellow patients....being small children. What was good for my 3 boys is good for me. To you and your staff...I commend you all on a job well done. Thank you."

-
Review Verified on 1/14/2017
"Excellent pediatric dentist. Very knowledgeable when it comes to pediatric dentistry. Wonderful with children."

-
Review Verified on 1/14/2017
"Very professional staff. Dr. Kotlow is kind and caring. My daughter is so scared of the dentist but Dr. Kotlow helps her feel at ease. Thank you!!"

-
Review Verified on 1/6/2017
"Love it!!"

-
Review Verified on 12/9/2016
"I have been bringing my girls now 3 and 6 to Dr. Kotlow for nearly 5 years now since my eldest needed a minor surgery on her frenum. Since this first consult visit we have been so impressed by the pleasant professional environment focusing on oral care for real young dental consumers. The environment is set up for kids from the waiting room to the dental chairs. All the staff connect with and are trusted by our daughters and are a pleasure to interact with. Dr. Kotlow is an unbelievably capable dentist that our daughters trust and feel so comfortable with. We recommend this pediatrics dental service to all our family and friends and do so now to all those that might read reviews before selecting dental services for their children. This is an important health need for everyone and having the experience for children be so pleasant has the two girls looking forward to their next visit.

This is a double thumbs up review for this wonderful group of professionals.
"

-
Review Verified on 10/25/2016
"Dr. Kotlow, and his staff, are fantastic! We brought our son for treatment of a tongue, and lip tie when he was about 5 weeks old. They were professional, caring, and competent. Our son was taken down for the procedure, and back in our arms in about 10 minutes. When babies come back, they have you nurse immediately. This ensures you can get the correct latch and seal, now that the ties have been removed. There are special, small rooms set aside for just this purpose. I would recommend Dr. Kotlow to anyone, who has a child with lip and/or tongue ties."

-
Review Verified on 10/15/2016
"Thank you so much. Your staff and you were so patient ,understanding and quick to help us during this stressful time. My son was so calm after the procedure and we felt we had all the time in the world to nurse and get ourselves together before we left. We never felt rushed. My 2.5 year old keeps asking to go back to the doctor with the big train and the teeny ,tiny train. Thank you for such a comfortable atmosphere."

-
Review Verified on 8/18/2016
"Check-in was quick & easy. Lobby is very kid friendly and filled with fun activities. Visit was quick, my 6 y/o child was seen on time, and follow up with Dr. Kotlow after exam was thorough. He's never afraid to sit in their exam chair due to the friendly environment. I had by 2 y/o with me which can sometimes be an unpredictable outcome as far as temperament goes but he was kept happy and entertained. We were in/out in under 35 min. Plus, the front desk helped me submit my 1st time dental insurance claim without any hassle and was done with ease & simplicity. Thanks. Also, they give a generous military discount if you're a cash paying client."

-
Review Verified on 7/13/2016
"Always kind always kind and professional"

-
Review Verified on 7/12/2016
Reviews 1 - 42 of 221

Write Your Review Today!

Powered by DentalX.biz